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Joscph B. Whitton
308 I{ester Street
Clinton, MS 39056
B-20420

Dear N4r- Whitton

Effcctive July 1,2016, the Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC) rcquires thar all
applicants for a Mississippi real estate broker's license or a real estate salesperson's license,
including nonresident liccnses, shall undergo a fingerprint-based criminal history records check of
the Mississippi central criminal databasc and the Fedcral Bureau oflnvestigation criminal history
databasc.

The current Mississippi law, as amended by the Mississippi Legislature and which became
effcctivc on July l, 2016 (2016 Miss. [.arvs S.B. 2725), providcs that, in order for an applicant to
qualify fbr either a Resident or a Non-Resident real estate broker's license or real estate

salesperson's license, an applicant must have been cleared for licensure through an investigation
which determined that the applicant does not possess a background which calls into question the

public trust and must include a verification that the prospective licensee is not guilty of or in
violation ofany statutory ground for denial of licensure (Miss. Code Ann. $73-35-21<g>). (See

a/so, Miss. Code Ann. $$73-35-7,73-35-8).

This larv requires thc Commission to revierv, among othcr things, the criminal history reports that

are gencrated from your background chcck. Such an omission could be considered a violation of
Miss. Code Ann, 997-7-10(l) (Fraudulent Statcmcnts and Represcntations), which reads as

fol lorys:

"Whoo,cr, with intent to defraud thc state or any department, agency, office, board. commission,

county, municipality or other subdivision of state or local governrnent, knowingly and willfully
falsifies, conceals or covers up by trick, scheme or device a material fact, or makcs any false,

fictitious or fraudulent statements or rcpresentations, or makes or uses any false writing or

docuntcnt knorving thc same to contain any false, ficlitious or fraudulent statcmenl or entry, shall,

upon conviction, be punished by a finc ofnot morc than Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00) or by

imprisonment for not more than five (5) years, or by both such fine and imprisonment."

The Lcgal Counsel and the Investigative Staffofthe Real Estate Cornmission has concluded that

the information obtaincd during the invcstigation ofyour license file and criminal history shows
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an arrest record with convictions that was not brought to thc Commissions attention or disclosed

on your application tbr liccnsure.

This Official Letter of Reprimand u'ill be placed in 1'our real estate licensing filc to become a part

ofyour pcmranent rccord. You should takc every precaution to tarniliarize yourseli*ith the Real

Estate Brokers License Act ol 1954, as Amended, and the Administrative Rules and Regulations

of the Real llstate Commission in order to avoid a serious violation which might negatively impact

the status of your license.

Rotrefi E. Pral-tor
A&ninistrator
Mlsslslppl R.al EsEte Commisslon
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Il'you have any qucstions pertaining to this matter, please contact Steve Miller, n ttome)' Ibr the

Commission. He can be contacted at 601-321-6978 or by e-mail at stnillcrlDmrec.state.ms. us.


